Connect with us

2019: Buhari Has Not Told Us He Will Go For Second Term – South-West APC

South-West APC leaders have said Buhari has not told them he will contest in 2019


2019: Buhari Has Not Told Us He Will Go For Second Term – South-West APC

Leaders of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), in South West geopolitical zone on Thursday, made known that President Muhammadu Buhari has not informed them he will re-contest in the 2019 general elections.

After a stakeholders’ meeting held behind closed doors at the Executive Chamber of the Governor’s office in Ibadan, the Party stalwarts remarked that anyone who is qualified for the post was free to contest.

The former Interim National Chairman of the party, Chief Bisi Akande who spoke on behalf of other leaders of the party shortly after the meeting insisted that the President was yet to brief them on his plans if he will be re-contesting in the forthcoming General Elections or not.

Akande, however, assured that the leaders of the party in the zone will have no option than to support and work for the incumbent President if he was lucky to have the ticket of the party in 2019.

On state-level politics, the APC Scribe remarked that the leaders were ready for the Gubernatorial elections in both Osun and Ekiti states slated for next year. Chief Akande also said the party was poised to have Ekiti back in the APC fold in 2019.

Read also: Buhari Not Desperate For Second Term – APC

The erstwhile Governor of Osun state reiterated: “The President has not told us he will re-contest in 2019. Anybody in our party is free to contest. If he is lucky to have the ticket, then we will have no reason than to support the President. Definitely, we are poised to have Ekiti state back to APC.”

Present at the meeting on Thursday was the host Governor, Sen. Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State and his counterparts from Osun, Ondo and Lagos, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu and Akinwumi Ambode respectively. Others include former Governors of Ekiti State Chief Adeniyi Adebayo; Minister for Mines and Steel Dr Kayode Fayemi and Senator Olusola Adeyeye.

Other party stalwarts present at the meeting were Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives Hon. Lasun Yusuff; Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs, Mr Claudus Daramola; Majority Leader, House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila; former Governor of Ogun State, Chief Olusegun Osoba; Minister for Communications, Barrister Adebayo Shittu and former Governor of Oyo State, Chief Adebayo Alao Akala.

Follow Us @NigeriaNews_net, We give #20,000 Worth Of Recharge Card Every Thursday

More in Politics


Follow Nigeria News

email for nigerianews

email for nigerianews


To Top