Connect with us

Nigeria News Today & Nigeria Breaking NewsPaper Today |

Ballon d’Or: Mane, Aubameyang Make 30-man Shortlist


Ballon d’Or: Mane, Aubameyang Make 30-man Shortlist

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar lead nominations for Ballon d’Or

Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Gabonese Striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang are the only African representatives in the 30-man shortlist released for the 2017 Ballon d’Or Award. Notable African players like Eygpt’s Mohammed Salah, Nigeria’s Victor Moses and Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez all missed out in the cut.

Meanwhile, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar continued their dominance of the award rostrums as they made the 30-man shortlist of players nominated for the 2017 Ballon d’Or award. The full list of top footballers was revealed on Monday by the organisers, France Football.

Read also: Neymar, Messi, Ronaldo Emerge As Final Nominees For FIFA Best Player 2017

Champions League and La Liga winners Real Madrid dominated with seven nominees. Ronaldo is joined by his team-mates like fellow attacker Karim Benzema and Isco, defenders Sergio Ramos and Marcelo, and midfielders Toni Kroos and Luka Modric. Gareth Bale, who finished sixth in last year’s rankings, did not make the list after he had an underwhelming and injury-plagued season at the Bernabeu.

The Ballon d’Or has been won by either Ronaldo or Messi for the past nine years. Ronaldo is heavily touted to win a record-equalling fifth Ballo d’Or title after he led Real Madrid to the UEFA Champions League and La Liga titles in 2017. The winner will be selected by a panel of journalists.

Ballon d’Or 2017 final shortlist:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
Edinson Cavani (PSG)
Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)
Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
David de Gea (Man Utd)
Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
Edin Dzeko (Roma)
Radamel Falcao (Monaco)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
Marcelo (Real Madrid)
Dries Mertens (Napoli)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Neymar (PSG)
Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Luis Suarez (Barcelona)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan)
Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
Isco (Real Madrid)


Kindly Share To Your Friends On Social Media & Whatsapp

Content Provider, Broadcast Journalist, Sports Producer, Presenter & Analyst, Social Commentator and Language Expert. Twitter: @damola_ogungbe You can reach me at [email protected]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sport

To Top