Connect with us

Nigerian Referees Snubbed For 2019 FIFA World Cup (Full List Of Referees Here)

Nigerian Referees Snubbed For 2019 FIFA World Cup (Full List Of Referees Here)

None of the Nigerian Referees was shortlisted to officiate at the 2019 FIFA World Cup

World Football Governing Body, FIFA has released a list of 36 referees that will officiate matches at the 2019 World Cup in Russia.

Unsurprisingly, there are no Nigerian officials included and a few other big names have been snubbed.

Especially, no referee has been called up from England or the English Premier League.

Algeria, Senegal, Gambia, Eygpt, Zambia and Ethiopia are the African countries from which Referees were selected to represent CAF at the Football Mundial.

Read also; See The 32 Nations And Coaches Going To The World Cup In 2019

The selected referees are to attend a World Cup seminar this month in Abu Dhabi, starting from November 25 to 29.

The final list stating specific roles will be announced once the use of video assistant referees (VARs) at the World Cup is approved by IFAB.

Below is a list of the referees, countries they represent and year of birth.

Asian Football Confederation

1. Fahad Al Mirdasi (KSA, 1985)

2. Alireza Faghani (IRN, 1978)

3. Ravshan Irmatov (UZB, 1977)

4. Abdulla Mohamed (EAU, 1978)

5. Ryuji Sato (JPN, 1977)

6. Nawaf Shukralla (BHR, 1976)

Confederation of African Football

1. Mehdi Abid Charef (ALG, 1980)

2. Malang Diedhiou (SEN, 1973)

3. Bakary Gassama (GAM, 1979)

4. Ghead Grisha (EGY, 1976)

5. Janny Sikazwe (ZAM, 1979)

6. Bamlak Tessema (ETH, 1980)


1. Joel Aguilar (SLV, 1975)

2. Mark Geiger (USA, 1974)

3. Jair Marrufo (USA, 1977)

4. Ricardo Montero (CRC, 1986)

5. John Pitti (PAN, 1978)

6. Cesar Ramos (MEX, 1983)


1. Julio Bascunan (CHI, 1978)

2. Enrique Caceres (PAR, 1974)

3. Andres Cunha (URU, 1976)

4. Nestor Pitana (ARG, 1975)

5. Sandro Ricci (BRA, 1974)

6. Wilmar Roldan (COL, 1980)

Oceania Football Confederation

1. Matthew Conger (NZL, 1978)

2. Norbert Hauata (TAH, 1979)


1. Felix Brych (GER, 1975)

2. Cuneyt Cakir (TUR, 1976)

3. Sergei Karasev (RUS, 1979)

4. Bjorn Kuipers (NED, 1973)

5. Antonio Mateu Lahoz (ESP, 1977)

6. Szymon Marciniak (POL, 1981)

7. Milorad Mazic (SRB, 1973)

8. Gianluca Rocchi (ITA, 1973)

9. Damir Skomina (SVN, 1976)

10. Clement Turpin (FRA, 1982)

Follow Us @NigeriaNews_net, We give #20,000 Worth Of Recharge Card Every Thursday
Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in


Follow Nigeria News

email for nigerianews

email for nigerianews


To Top